My Review of A New Culture of Learning: Cultivating the Imagination for a World of Constant Change

A New Culture of Learning crystallized my cluster of experiences with the open ed movement–it’s a good primer on empowering students to take responsibility for and invest in their education. The authors address peer learning, learning collectives, and the importance of play all in accessible, optimistic prose.

It’s also prompted me to re-evaluate the structure of my P2PU poetry course to reflect more self-directed projects and learner buy-in.

I think perhaps that the authors are too optimistic about massive multiplayer online games in general. While it’s absolutely true that these are effective learning experiences, and one learns how to participate in an economy and a team, I’m not convinced these skills transfer to a non-gamified structure. I’m skeptical of gamification in general, though, and am open to be convinced.

Leave a Reply

